SkeletonKey Games
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
SkeletonKey Games Powered by DriveThruRPG



Home » SkeletonKey Games » 2e Adventure Tiles: Dungeon Core Set » Reviews
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
2e Adventure Tiles: Dungeon Core Set
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Walter J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2013 15:50:42

This is a deliberately vanilla core set not a detail one, so the rating is base on how good this set does its job not whether it could be "prettier." This set does a good job of representing the basic dungeon tiles. Corridors: straight, 90 degree turn, T-intersection, 4-way intersection, stairs straight, stairs 90 degree turn and several dead ends into small rooms. Rooms: corners, sides, with entrance and non-entrance versions; middle sections and L-wing connectors. Everything you need to build a basic dungeon and all worth 5 stars so far for this type of set.

So why take off a star for this set? There are no doors. Not one. This set has to be viewed as a replacement to the old E-Adventure Tiles Dungeons Volume 1 (SKG105e) which had a door and non-door version of every room entry and had doors on some of the passage intersections as well. Honestly, there were probably too many door tiles in the original set - but to go from lots to none takes off a lot of this set's utility.

I don't think this set needs a lot of doors/non-door variant tiles like were in the original set, but I would like to see a page added to the set that just had doors you could cut out and place on the other tiles: a varity of 5' x 10' sections with a 5 foot wide door, a pair of 5 foot wide doors, a single 10 foot wide door and so on. It would be nice if larger double doors could be included that were like 5' x 15' and 5' x 20'.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
2e Adventure Tiles: Dungeon Core Set
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

Tabletop Heroes: Age of Piracy - Pirates
Publisher: Triple Ace Games
by Walter J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2012 01:20:39

I was very pleased with this PDF. I bought it mostly for the figures but I was also hoping to get some use out of the Savage World stats. I got the figures for my Pirates on the Spanish Main game and was happy to find that was what the Savage World's stats were for. It might have been nice to mention that somewhere for the product, at least a "Can be used with PotSM" - though the PotSM license is probably lost in some legal no man's land.

The first five wild card NPCs are all male ship Captains. They are of different ranks of power and each has a different sized ship running from a 1 masted sloop up to a 5 masted man o' war. The different Captains seem to match their ships in power. In the character section Captain Edward Deepbeard and Captain Jan de Booth have the same image but the actual stand up minis are different.

The next five wild cards are female NPCs. Two of them have the command edges to be ship Captains, Mary Blood and Madeline Garnier, and also have ships. One of the others, Sally Blackheart, has a 1 masted ship and boating but not any command edges. Jane Read is meant to be a supporting character and is a lookout, though she has a lot of edges for a supporting character. The last female wild card is a rich rogue.

The next section has what they call crew members but they are very well developed to be just crew members. I'm planning on using them as henchman, extras with a wild die. There are ten of these extras.

The last section has 5 animal pets. They are all interesting from the GM point of view because you can get an encounter or two out of them. From the table top figure point of few a few more pirates would have been better but from the story point of few you will get some use out of them and they are likely to add something to the plot line.

The PDF has a cover page, a credit page, eight pages of NPC description, and three pages of figures to be printed out.. The art on the trifold figures is good and there is one figure for each NPC on two pages. On the Last page there are 18 figures that can be changed to any image so you can make up to 18 of the same figure or mix 'n and match different figures..



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tabletop Heroes: Age of Piracy - Pirates
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

0one's Blueprints: Caverns of Chaos
Publisher: 0one Games
by Walter J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/23/2011 00:10:25

This is a sprawling interconnected series of rooms, caves and caverns. Very similar to the Keep on the Borderland Caverns of Chaos or the caves could be used for WotC's Chaos Scar. There are over 200 caves/rooms. This is a no frills, no color product and for the price a very good buy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: Caverns of Chaos
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

2e Adventure Tiles: Dungeon Expansion 01
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Walter J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/20/2011 14:08:46

I have a lot of Skeleton Key's tile sets. I use them in face to face games and in games I play over the Internet. Over the last few years most of Skeleton Key's tile sets can be divided into two types: a) Deliberately bland tile sets made for general use and reuse. b) Less bland tile sets with more details but less reuseablity.

This bring us to 2e Dungeon Tiles Expansion 01. This seems to be a compromise set with half the tiles bland and generic and then mirrored variants of the same tiles with great deal of detail. As far as art, the tiles all do what the artist wanted so the art is very good. The real question for a purchaser is do you want a set that is half generic in the 2e ink friendly style and half colored detailed? There are nine colored tiles and nine generic tiles in the 2e ink friendly (no black room border) style as well as two transitions to the older Adventure Tile sets.

My advice to a prospective buyer is look carefully at the product preview to understand what you are getting so you won't be buying something you don't want. This is a great set if you want both types of tiles. However, like most expansion sets this is not a good set to get if this is your first tile set. My rating assumes you want both types of tiles.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
2e Adventure Tiles: Dungeon Expansion 01
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

Cartophile No. 4
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Walter J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/20/2011 12:29:17

This is one of the Cartophile series. All of the products in the series are specially "map" areas and this one is no different. If you need an outdoor ziggurat this is a great product, if you don't then this set of tiles won't be of much use. As can be seen by the picture, Ed's interpetation of a ziggurat is a step pyramid instead of a pyramid with one spiral path from the bottom to the top.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cartophile No. 4
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

Initiative Cards (Free)
Publisher: The Game Mechanics
by Walter J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/04/2009 13:56:03

These are the best 3.x initiative cards I have found. I use them in all my face to face 3.5 games. I think they are the best because the designers managed to find the right trade off between the size of the information boxes and trying to get the biggest area for each box.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Initiative Cards (Free)
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

Initiative Cards: Monster Set 2
Publisher: The Game Mechanics
by Walter J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/28/2006 00:00:00

Game Mechanics Monseter Set 2

This is the second half of the SRD?s monsters plus all the summoned monsters. The SRD monster sets are not divided alphabetically. Look at the lists of monsters in each set to see what is included.

Why buy these over The Other Game Company?s set? These cards are 4 to a page instead of nine so they are bigger, more closer to 3x5. If you like the large size you want these, if you want the business card size get The Other Game Company?s set.

The other reviewer is right you could type in all the info yourself, but unless you have lots of time I think it?s a better use of your time to buy the set and play instead of type in the monsters. You are going to have to type in any Non SRD Monsters anyway.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: 3x5 size, not having to type in the monsters myself.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Errors in monster stats. The Celetial Owl has 16HD and the dragons don't have all their feats.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Initiative Cards: Monster Set 2
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

Ptolus e-Adventure Tiles: Ghul's Labyrinth I
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Walter J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/28/2006 00:00:00

Nice light brown set with small and irregularly shaped rooms. I don?t play Ptolus and bought it solely for the look of the set which is very nice. This is a large set with 30 basic tiles with 5 alternates to the 30 standard tiles plus 5 bonus tiles which connect to the other Ptolus Sewer Set and the e-Adventure?s Dungeon Sets. This set is not quite as generic as the e-Adventures tiles because of the small and irregular rooms. Still, I prefer the option of making smaller rooms over utter generic rooms and corridors.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: I like the small rooms and slightly less generic feel of the set. This is a very nice looking set.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I don't like dungeon sets that are not on the 10x10 grid because it make it harder to use the set with a map aready made up. I pull a star off for that.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ptolus e-Adventure Tiles: Ghul's Labyrinth I
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

Counter Collection SUMMONED CREATURES
Publisher: Fiery Dragon
by Walter J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/19/2006 00:00:00

This is a good collection of creatures which match the 3.5 wizard/sorcerer summoned creature and cleric/druid summon creatures spells. This set is useful because many of the summoned creatures are on mundane creatures with a template on them - and good counters of mundane creatures are hard to find. After all, there are plenty of counters for dragons - but when is the last time you saw a counter of a mule?

The art is workmanship, not great, but you can tell what they counters are suppose to be. I don't like the way some "face on" creatures look with their mouths open. I'm dropping a star because of the art and because the fiendish creatures do not have any red tints or highlights nor do the celestials have any "glow".<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Some of the art was quite good.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I didn't like the fact the fiendish and celestial versions of a creature were not tinted in any way and appeard the same as normal creatures. While this isn't all bad - because of it you can use the creatures as normal or templated - I thought it detracted from the product.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Counter Collection SUMMONED CREATURES
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

0one's Blueprints: Way Inn
Publisher: 0one Games
by Walter J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/07/2006 00:00:00

Like the other Blueprints this is well done. I got this for the inn maps but the blacksmith, emporium, and guard house maps mean this set of maps actually cover all the areas of any small village that players are likely to go - which means this set is even a bigger value than it first appears.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Nice maps. With a blacksmith, stable, store, guard house, and caravan rest stop maps aside from the inn maps you really have all the important areas of many small villages covered in this product.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Nothing. A great deal for less than $2.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: Way Inn
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

The Dungeon Under the Mountain: Level 4
Publisher: 0one Games
by Walter J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/07/2006 00:00:00

Dungeon Under the Mountain: Level 4. This map is much more like Level 1 with less huge single rooms like those in Level 2 and 3. It has good variety and parts of it can easily be pulled out and made into smaller maps. For the price you can't go wrong.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: I like the return to more smaller rooms and the varity in the level. The bottom half of the map, in particular, is very nicely done.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I like this map. My only nit pick is the maze like areas in the top right. In my experience, these type of areas tend to be boring unless you add lots of "random" encounters.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dungeon Under the Mountain: Level 4
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

Edventure Maps: Tavern in the Woods
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Walter J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/07/2006 00:00:00

This is exactly what it says, a small taven. Compared to Taverns Vol 1 it has more detail with the rugs and round pillars. The tarvern is 45x35 feet at its widest and irregulary shaped. <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Its a little smaller than the ones you could make with four tiles from Taverns Vol 1, the Outdoor setting, and the fact it all fits on two pages saves on paper and ink.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Nothing.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Edventure Maps: Tavern in the Woods
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

e-Adventure Tiles: Adventure Town Taverns Vol. 1
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Walter J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/07/2006 00:00:00

These are nicely made tiles wich allow you to make 40x40 (8x8 spaces) taverns or larger. There are an assortment of bars, fireplaces, some store rooms and mostly tiles with wooden tables and chairs. One tile has a small seperate building with a bed. All and all a nice set that anyone can use. This is obviously a specilized set, and these are taverns not inns - so there are no kitchens or sleeping areas expect for one outside building.

<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: I especially the lighting effects of the torches and fireplaces.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Many adventure tiles have a greyscale version of the tiles. Mine did not. The greyscale would likey give the tiles a more modern look and might be used to set a different mood and I wish it had been included.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br><BR>[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]<BR>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Adventure Town Taverns Vol. 1
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

Creator Reply:
Hi Walter, thanks for the comments. I discovered a long time ago that the color files print out better to a black and white printer than the grayscale versions did. That is why they no longer come with grayscale files. Just print to color versions in grayscale and you should get the same or better effect. Thanks again - Ed Bourelle - SkeletonKey Games
e-Adventure Tiles: Cave Passages
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Walter J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/17/2006 00:00:00

I think the cave sets are the most useful of the E-Adventure Tiles because mapping caves is always a pain for the gamemaster or player. This makes it easy to map out a rats maze of Cave Passages.

This is a passage set meant to connect to the various cave chambers. That said, there are 4 small caves and about another 4 to 6 tiles that would make acceptable encounter areas. The set by itself is nice for a small tight cavern system with occasional 15x15 encounter areas. If pressed for money you could combine this set with the free Fungus Caves set.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Nice looking easy to lay out group of cave tunnels.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Nothing.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Cave Passages
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

e-Adventure Tiles: Iron Dungeons
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Walter J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/17/2006 00:00:00

This is one of my favorite sets. It is a large set with a great deal of variety. There are 5 and 10 food wide corridors and large and small rooms you can build all type of different dungeons with this set.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Nice variety of sizes in rooms and corridors.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Nothing really, the red color might detract from the sets general usefulness.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Iron Dungeons
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 25 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
Powered by DriveThruRPG