SkeletonKey Games
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
SkeletonKey Games Powered by DriveThruRPG



Home » SkeletonKey Games » e-Adventure Tiles: Adventure Town Taverns Vol. 1 » Reviews
Browse Categories











Back
e-Adventure Tiles: Adventure Town Taverns Vol. 1
 
$7.99
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
2 4
1 5
1 0
0 0
0 0
e-Adventure Tiles: Adventure Town Taverns Vol. 1
Click to view
e-Adventure Tiles: Adventure Town Taverns Vol. 1
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Christopher W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/19/2018 17:03:45

Adventure Town Inns and Adventure Town Taverns are two awesome products if you want to create a "home away from home" for your PCs, such as the inn they keep returning to as they delve a megadungeon. A few reviewers have commented about some limitations like a lack of upstairs and down (Taverns), a lack of sizeable common areas (Inns), and so on. All of those issues can be easily solved by combining the two sets, which use the exact same cobblestone and wooden floor patterns. With the bonus tiles, you can also create L-shaped (or U-shaped) buildings. This fit my needs perfectly and is a great addition to the Skeleton Key Games lineup.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Adventure Town Taverns Vol. 1
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Chip D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2009 21:30:53

Much better effort than their outdoor tiles - these look good in the PDF and on the table. Just a few problems that stopped this from being a 5-star set.

A) No stairs (up or down), ladder, or other method to reach any other levels. It would have been pretty easy to add a couple of tiles for these.

B) No small taverns. This tileset makes very large D&D style of taverns, but it would be very difficult to use them in a more realistic setting.

C) No all cobblestone tile. Sure you can get it in row houses, but it is a glaring omission for this set.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Adventure Town Taverns Vol. 1
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/09/2008 12:15:48

SK products mean top-of-the-line quality, and these are no exception. They are a solid addition to the SK line, and are well-worth the price.

I would like to say that I hope that SK realizes they have thoroughly 'done' dungeons, wilderness, and caves, and now expand into more urban tile-sets, perhaps...hopefully...modern day? Please?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Adventure Town Taverns Vol. 1
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Paul L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/15/2007 00:00:00

Fantastic set of tavern floorplans with various different bars/seating areas/storage/private rooms etc.

I really hope that some more town-based tiles appear soon, eg streethouses with alleyways, shops etc

<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Variety of floorplans, the 'L' shaped pieces that allow non-rectangular taverns are a good idea.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: A major flaw with this set is a lack of stairs to an upstairs level. Yes, you can use Inns vol1 stairs, but then you have to either have a bedroom downstairs or use the gable fronted twin staircase. This means that any tavern you want with an upper floor is going to look very samey with respect to it's stair access.

No stables or alleyways either ! Hopefully volume 2 will address this <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br><BR>[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]<BR>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Adventure Town Taverns Vol. 1
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Robert R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/02/2006 00:00:00

As usual another graphically very nice product from Ed, however I must admit I am a little disappointed that none of these taverns can be used as your typical D&D style 'inn' - ie there's no upstairs (nowhere for the adventurers to sleep/recover etc), no kitchen areas and no cellars (with appropriate hidden entrances to the sewers/dungeons etc)! These can be used purely for drinking houses and not much else. Come on Ed, where are the Inns in Adventure Town?

This has left me begging for more in the Adventure Town series though - come on Ed, where are they? <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Clean, crisp graphics as always (perhaps too clean and crisp?). For the stated purpose (taverns) they are extremely nice.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: No upstairs/downstairs; somewhat disappointed that these are not 'Inns' as such but then again that's not what they are sold as so it's not SKGs fault per se.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Inns are in the works, Rob, don't get your panties in a bunch :) There was just too many tiles to fit in a Taverns/Inns set. Peace - Ed
e-Adventure Tiles: Adventure Town Taverns Vol. 1
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Walter J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/07/2006 00:00:00

These are nicely made tiles wich allow you to make 40x40 (8x8 spaces) taverns or larger. There are an assortment of bars, fireplaces, some store rooms and mostly tiles with wooden tables and chairs. One tile has a small seperate building with a bed. All and all a nice set that anyone can use. This is obviously a specilized set, and these are taverns not inns - so there are no kitchens or sleeping areas expect for one outside building.

<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: I especially the lighting effects of the torches and fireplaces.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Many adventure tiles have a greyscale version of the tiles. Mine did not. The greyscale would likey give the tiles a more modern look and might be used to set a different mood and I wish it had been included.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br><BR>[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]<BR>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Hi Walter, thanks for the comments. I discovered a long time ago that the color files print out better to a black and white printer than the grayscale versions did. That is why they no longer come with grayscale files. Just print to color versions in grayscale and you should get the same or better effect. Thanks again - Ed Bourelle - SkeletonKey Games
e-Adventure Tiles: Adventure Town Taverns Vol. 1
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Jeff T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/02/2006 00:00:00

E-Adventure Tiles are clearly the best tiles around, but I still wish I could lay my hands on some pre-printed tiles, since I can never get my printer to make them look as good as they do on the computer. This, however, is my fault, not SKG's, and they continue to make tiles that make me drool.

Hopefully this will be the beginning of a long series of tiles for use in more "civilized" areas. I think it would be a nice addition if SKG were to offer E-Adventure tilesets featuring furniture items and dungeon dressings. I would like to have the option of placing tables, chairs, armor racks, and chests where I see fit on the floorplans.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The flexibility of design and ability to use it multiple times for various taverns.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Not much. I just wish that Skeleton Key could offer a pre-printed set of tiles on cardboard or something as an alternative.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Adventure Town Taverns Vol. 1
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Nick M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/01/2006 00:00:00

I wish my local pubs were as clean and tidy as these :-)

I've been looking forward to Ed producing some fantasy building interiors for a long time so this set was bought almost as soon as it became available. Hopefully more urban tiles will soon follow to expand the flexibility of the set.

It would be nice to see a few cottages, hovels, barns, blacksmiths . . . ooh the list is endless.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Crisp artwork to a high standard (as usual for SKG). Urban tiles Hooray <br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The Inn interiors are a bit too clean for my tastes. i'd like to have seen flagstone or earthen floors covered in straw. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Adventure Town Taverns Vol. 1
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Wesley A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/29/2006 00:00:00

I was so excited to see this that I almost purchased it without checking to see if Skeleton Key had sent me a coupon (they did, $1.00 off, Thanks!).

I've been waiting for Adventure Town for a LONG time and this is the first set. You can create a number of variations of four different tavern shapes and interiors. I think this is one of the better looking sets so far. The stone work is particularly nice. I love the female face set in the stones on the ATTV112 tile.

Looking at this set, it's easy to see why Ed Bourelle was pegged to do the maps for Ptolus.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Beautiful! With 27 tiles (1 more available for download) there are plenty of variations. Very usable.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Not a thing. Can't wait for the next ones.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back