SkeletonKey Games
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
SkeletonKey Games Powered by DriveThruRPG



Home » SkeletonKey Games » e-Adventure Tiles: Dungeons Vol. 1 » Reviews
Browse Categories











Back
e-Adventure Tiles: Dungeons Vol. 1
 
$7.99
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
3 26
2 7
3 0
1 1
0 0
e-Adventure Tiles: Dungeons Vol. 1
Click to view
e-Adventure Tiles: Dungeons Vol. 1
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Dana V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/20/2016 20:49:39

Very nice. Lightyears better than those bland squares I have been using. Mounting mine on 1/2 inch MDF board (Modge Podge glue), cuts fairly easly (jigsaw) and some belt sander work to smooth the sides (goes very quickly). I then paint the edges a red (acrylic from AC Moores - the cheap stuff), lightly sand it when done (smoothes the rough edges), then spray a protective finish over them. Very nice looking !!

My only wish would be to see several straight pieces on one page - allows for some variety in the artwork, also allows quick printing of several pieces at once. Same for the other smaller pieces.

Power tools - be careful with them. The jigsaw cutting is difficult for the smaller pieces, even with a clamp. Not for the faint hearted or inexperienced.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Dungeons Vol. 1
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Michael T. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 04/30/2011 06:15:03

This is your bog-standard dungeon set. It includes tiles to make large rooms with open entrances as well as doors. There is also one tile with a column in it. The corridors are two spaces wide (two inches or ten feet) and include turns, a three-way intersection, a four-way intersection, and variants with doors. The last tiles in the set are the requisite steps: straight and corner.

If you were conducting a dungeon crawl you could feasibly use this set alone, but all the rooms would be very large. The one thing missing is a small room that fits on a single tile. It's odd that this feature (arguably the most useful feature of any dungeon) is missing after a similar tile was included in the large caves set. You'll need to buy another set to fill this need.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Dungeons Vol. 1
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Wesley A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/21/2008 02:20:57

I am a huge e-Adventure tiles fan. All of these are great. This is a must have basic set.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Dungeons Vol. 1
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/25/2008 22:43:50

I own a lot of SK Games' tiles, and they are awesome. They're well worth the price. I use them as jpgs with Map Tool on a cloned monitor, and they really bring the setting alive.

Hopefully, they will get the town/city tiles going soon!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Dungeons Vol. 1
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Anton S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/22/2007 21:27:55

Great tiles for wargaming or roleplaying. Great artwork and variety.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Dungeons Vol. 1
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Walter J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/30/2005 00:00:00

Adventure Tiles 1

This is a nice generic set that has standard 10x30 corridors, ?T? and ?+? intersections and 50x50+ large rooms. I would have given the set 5 stars except for one thing - the rooms are off a standard 10' grid.

Let me explain: Most dungeons you buy or make are scaled to each square being 10 feet by 10 feet. I would have like to be able to use this set to recreate these very generic maps.

All the corridor tiles are in multiples of 10 feet. Unfortunately all the room tiles connecting to corridors have a 5 foot corridor leading in the room. Because of this every room is ?off? a standard 10'x10' grid by five feet even though all rooms end up in multiples of 10 feet. Because of this ?5' stub?, all corridors leading to a room are also a multiple of 5' instead of 10'. It's easy enough to fix the corridor length by trimming, but putting the rooms back on the 10x10 grid is not easy because the room are all designed 5' off the 10' grid if you use any of the tunnel going into the room's corner transitions.

If you just want to throw out a great looking random dungeon using the tiles - this set works great. If you want to use the tiles to recreate some standard dungeon map then being ?off? by 5 feet is annoying.

<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Great looking geomorphic tiles.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Rooms being off the standard 10' grid.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br><BR>[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]<BR>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Dungeons Vol. 1
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Andy S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/07/2005 00:00:00

Very basic tiles, not sufficient for mapping by themselves although they would be a useful adjunct to another set.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Tiles look good in colour.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I was hoping for some smaller rooms, say 20x20 or 30x30 feet.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Disappointed<br>



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
This set is designed for the most basic dungeon layouts. Check out Dungeons Vol. 4 for smaller rooms. Thanks for the input. Best regards - Ed Bourelle
e-Adventure Tiles: Dungeons Vol. 1
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Nick M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/27/2004 00:00:00

An excellent product. 100% satisfied. Looking through the rest of the e-adventure catalogue I am certain to buy more - not only do the tiles fit in well with any generic scenario I can see them providing inspiration in themselves<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: flexibility and the choice to print either in colour or greyscale<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: nothing<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Dungeons Vol. 1
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Tim C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/07/2004 00:00:00

Very nicely done basic dungeon set, perfect if you want more then hand-drawn layout but don't want the hassel of printing, cutting, floding, glueing and storing 3-D scenery. I'm looking forward to picking up more of these sets.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Unused areas on the tiles are left white instead of filled with ink-wasting black. Bless yer hearts!<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Dungeons Vol. 1
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Brad B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/27/2004 00:00:00

The set contains basic corridors and rooms for fantasy role playing. Its a great first set to get to cover the basics of a dungeon. I am really happy I bought this.

The squares are 1" made for minatures. As can be seen from the demo, each 1" square has small stone design squares. They add flavor but are not distracting from play. Also added are brown dirt stains, green slime stains, and a few blood stains. None are overpowering to the design. They add flavor without dominating the tile. This is important to me as it makes it easier to reuse.

I also suggest you purchase the Dungeon Details sets. They fit in perfectly for specific furniture, torches, etc.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: All the basic hallway and room combinations are covered. I had only minimal cutting to do for what I needed.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Dungeons Vol. 1
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Rick R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/11/2004 00:00:00

Very good templates, will use them time and time again for D&D adventures.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: The detail in the templates<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Dungeons Vol. 1
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Patrick T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/05/2004 00:00:00

(For more complete general comments, look for my review on the Landshark Tunnels from Skeleton Key.)

A good, of somewhat plain and general set. Still, that's what this set was designed for: to provide you with the basic elements necessary to create fanasy dungeons. I expect to get good and consistent usage from them.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Very useful if having detailed site-based dungeons in which to use your miniatures is important to you. Reusable and configurable, so that many game systems can be embraced.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: No dislikes.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Dungeons Vol. 1
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Nathan R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/07/2004 00:00:00

A good bit of work from SKG once again. Nice straight cooridors and good chamber corners creates great flexibility.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Dungeons Vol. 1
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Alain V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/30/2004 00:00:00

Great stuff, ideal for the beginner. Infortunately in the 1 inch grid so Mage Knight figurines can not be used.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Dungeons Vol. 1
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Slawo J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/25/2004 00:00:00

Much has been said already about this set, so I can only add that, compared with some other sets from Skeletonkey, these are a bit less appealing and diversified. But for this you have now "Dungeon Details". This set is all you need to build a simple dungeon of rectangular chambers of any size and to connect them with straight corridors with some doors or without. There are even some stairs to enhance the dungeon. Buy them, you won't regret it. BTW, despite the pictures here as well as on Ed's homepage, the outer edges of the tiles are not black. The inner contents are surrounded by a thick black line, but the rest is all white. This is of course more ink friendly, but you will probably want to paint them black (that's what I do, anyway) for a better look.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 34 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
Powered by DriveThruRPG