SkeletonKey Games
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
SkeletonKey Games



Home » SkeletonKey Games » Ptolus Deluxe City Map » Reviews
Browse Categories











Back
Ptolus Deluxe City Map
 
$9.99
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
10 10
2 3
1 0
0 0
0 0
Ptolus Deluxe City Map
Click to view
Ptolus Deluxe City Map
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by James S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/12/2013 02:17:37

These maps are amazing. A lot of detail and work went into them and not only are they clear but also colorful. If you get nothing else of this set, get the map. It's the best part of the city.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ptolus Deluxe City Map
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Julian J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/22/2013 21:08:03

The good: I printed the 66 pages, on heavy weight paper. The alignment is 11 pages horizontal, by 6 pages vertical.

The final product is extremely nice to view. It is 82.5 inches in width (1.5" under seven feet across) and a little over five feet in height.

The bad: If you don't want to tape/glue it, to a wall in your gaming room, this is a bit of a project.

I elected to use 'Backboard', and picked up two 4FT x 8FT pieces, then cut one of them into two sections 2.5FT x 8 FT and 1.5FT x 8FT. Then used very liberal quantities of (school) white glue to overlap the 2.5 FT piece across the 4FT x 8FT and 1.5FT x 8FT pieces. Then applied weight to the backboard and covered it with a tarp (did it in my driveway).

I opted to reinforce the glue (which held very well, after a week of ugly rain and cooler temperatures) with 16x 3/4" screws.

The 66 pages also needed to be cut. There was close to an inch wide border around each page. Staples, in the photo center, had a cutting machine... but the cuts aren't exactly perfect on every piece as you kind of learn to use the cutter as you go. The pieces of the map are close to square/flush with each other, but it is not absolutely perfect. It would have been nicer if they had come without the border around each piece.

I glued the pieces onto my assembled backboard. And used a tape gun to go over the 'seams' to ensure the edges were all 'down' along the backboard.

Overall: Ptolus absolutely rocks as a setting. Having this fabulous visual aid, is great.

If you've not tried the Ptolus setting, do yourself a favor and do so.

If you running Ptolus, this set of maps is a phenomenal aid to your game. It is easily the best prop our group has ever had.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ptolus Deluxe City Map
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Kenneth A. C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/11/2009 02:48:54

For all of you ptolus fans... this is a must-have!

I use this to pick out smaller areas within the city, much easier to handle than the large poster map from the Ptolus book! So if you own the Ptolus book and think, "maybe I dont need this..." well, maybe you do!

Another map from Ed Bourelle of very high quality!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ptolus Deluxe City Map
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Christopher H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/25/2009 10:18:07

The Ptolus Deluxe City Map from SkeletonKey Games is precisely what the name implies: an impressive map of the city of Ptolus. Actually, it’s a series of maps; there are actually six PDFs supplied with this product. One of the PDFs is a seventy-page map booklet, containing sixty-six separate maps designed for printing on regular letter-sized paper. You can piece these maps together to make an overall poster map of Ptolus, or use individual maps as appropriate. If you have access to a large-format printer (at least 23″ x 57″), you can use the four individual large-format files and save yourself some tape. The sixth PDF covers the whole city on a single page, and is intended for on-screen use. The amount of detail in these maps is stunning. Every building in the city seems to be represented on the maps. The beauty and detail of Ed Bourelle’s city map makes me eager to find out what’s inside.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ptolus Deluxe City Map
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Steve P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2008 13:11:46

A good Buy! Maps are consistantly detailed and appropriate to their surrounding buildings...it HUGE!! What's NOT to like about that!! Well organized so it's easy to locate just the section of Ptolus that your looking for. Monstrous variety of suplimental maps that go with this make it probably the biggets most detailed map I've ever seen in my 30+ years of gaming!! Yet with lots of room left-over for DM's to customize their own buildings and areas.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ptolus Deluxe City Map
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Jay C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/29/2007 12:00:09

A great companion to the big book. Being able to view the city in such detail really changes the way you think about the setting.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ptolus Deluxe City Map
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Cire H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/27/2006 00:00:00

This map is beautiful. It is clearly a labor of love. It would make a great wall poster (which I think is/was available elsewhere).<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Amazingly beautiful giant city map. <br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: What's not to like? <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ptolus Deluxe City Map
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Richard W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2006 00:00:00

Identical to the poster shipped with the Ptolus book. Great detail and absolutely huge.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: What's not to like? Ed, as usual, has done an outstanding job.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: There isn't anything I didn't like about this product.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ptolus Deluxe City Map
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Robert R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/26/2006 00:00:00

Awesome graphics as usual, this is going to be HUGE when it's assembled. Would have been nice to maybe have a 'reduced size' version that covered maybe 6-8 sheets instead of 66, but the level of detail on the big map is incredible. Can't wait for the book itself to come out; as it is with this map I feel ready to walk about the city myself.

<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Detail, colour, crispness, layout - it just looks INCREDIBLE. <br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Really needs a 'smaller' version of the map, perhaps over 4-6 pages? Not going to affect my rating though!<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br><BR>[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]<BR>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ptolus Deluxe City Map
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Benoist P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/03/2006 20:07:12

An excellent resource for DMs of Ptolus, this package presents an extremely large version of the original Ptolus map as well as a sliced version in four distinct panels. The quality of the PDF is outstanding, allowing for MUCH more detail than the regular one page map one can find in the regular single-page version one can find in the Ptolus PDF annexes. Excellent production value. A must for any group using Ptolus for a regular campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ptolus Deluxe City Map
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Jeff T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/24/2006 00:00:00

Being a big fan of Skeleton Key Games maps and tiles, I was very excited about purchasing the Ptolus map. I will definitely use it in my campaign, and I'm glad the map is generic enough to let me flesh it out the way I like. The map is beautiful, and arranged very well for printing.

I wish that products like this were available in print. I would easily pay $20 for a print copy of this poster map, maybe even more. I called my neighborhood Kinko's and they said it would cost $360 dollars to print out the four "large pdf" format files that make the whole poster. Bah! Even printing it out myself on individual cardstock is costing me two ink cartridges, and it won't look as good as a published hard copy poster.

<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The intuitive nature of printing the product. Very colorful and pleasing. The buildings and layout are attractive and nice, and I like that it adapts to many different campaigns.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The lack of a hard copy for resale. It takes a lot of work (and money) to print out the poster-sized city map, which is clearly what it's intended to be used as.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ptolus Deluxe City Map
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Joseph J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/08/2006 00:00:00

Need a great map for a city? Do you like the work of Ed Bourelle? Are you a Ptolus fan?

What are you waiting for? Buy it already!<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: It is top notch. The quality couldn't have been better. I look forward to more Ptolus maps from SkeletonKey Games.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Could have used some more bookmarks. Or links to the maps from the Map Guide page. And it could have used one complete map of the city.

Edit: It has a complete map now!<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br><BR>[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]<BR>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ptolus Deluxe City Map
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Allen L. W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/08/2006 00:00:00

Beautiful. What more need be said. A city like this can be used in so many ways. There's plenty of text to guide a GM, but enough of the buildings are unlabled for individual expansion. Of all the cities available on the web, this is probably the best.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Everything. Layout, graphics, color, the whole nine yards <br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I can't think of anything not to like.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
Powered by DrivethruRPG