SkeletonKey Games
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
SkeletonKey Games Powered by DriveThruRPG



Home » Wizards of the Coast » Reviews
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
by Shawn C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2018 17:49:18

A fun adventure. The sandstorm was irritating due to the fact that nobody saved a wagon or the statue, and how the hobgoblins collect the toll is unclear. Nerfing encounters for a weak party made them very easy and I did not after I saw what the nerfs were.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
by Allen M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2018 00:21:29

I found this to be a very fun module to run, though there are some concerns. The module is in two main parts, the race and the fight.

The race, and the preamble to it, were overall very good. As others have said, the "hook" is rather weak, especially for PC's "new to town." The betting system is particularly weird with multiple dinos all possible winners. We explained this away by saying you were placing more exotic bets, but regardless the end result is unsatisfying.

The actual race was a blast to run, and my players all said they really enjoyed it. It was a lot of fun to just make up descriptions to what the dinos were doing, what the PC's efforts were resulting in, and what their opponents were doing. The race did end up being swingy, with my group doing well out of the gate and on the pteranadons, but it took a lot longer than it probably should have to find the right bricks under water. I found that I had to fudge the other teams' dice so they would either stay competitive or not run too far ahead. Of course, that allowed the other teams to catch up and almost win the race, making it close and exciting. That was me, however, not the dice. More so than most mods, I think this one benefits greatly from a DM keeping things close to the end. It was also fun to bring out my inner Jeff Probst and really get into some of the descriptions. In the end, even my group of six level-one players (three totally new) were able to succeed enough at the challenges to make it fun and exciting.

After the race, there was a pretty big fight. This was a tough fight for all 1st level characters since the big one can one-shot almost any first level PC except for a raging barbarian. The module says it is optimized for 3rd level, so go easy on your firsties. The "investigation" part of the module where the players are all supposed to piece it all together could stand to be much better fleshed out too.

I've run this one twice, and I'll probably run it a few more times because it is just a fun, different adventure for players to try different things in. I'll probably get parts 2 and 3 of the trilogy and see how they go, even though quite a few reviewers say there isn't much of a connection between this one and those two.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

DDEX1-12 Raiders of the Twilight Marsh (5e)
by Heath B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2018 18:37:27

This adventure is better than I was able to run it. It's got a strong, clear story with lots of room for player engagement. The sense of urgency is developed early; the motivations of the NPCs are clear and the untrustworthiness of their nature makes every encounter, whether combat or negotiation, excitingly perilous.

I recommend, when DMing, that you pay close attention to the time-tracking system included on the last page, and decide ahead of time how you will run the two or three possible resulting scenarios. Also, there are some monsters that have been re-mixed and understanding the difference between the different subgroups is critical for an informed and exciting battle.

In a gamestore setting, with an unpredictable mix of PCs, it can be difficult to keep all the encounter interactions clear in your head, especially as what happens in early encounters can have dramatic implications for the setup of later encounters, and their resolution. Don't be afraid to take your time and split the session at the halfway point if necessary.

I would have liked more hooks on the personalities of some of the very minor NPCs - but had no problem improvising a fairly uninteresting backstory to answer PC inquiries.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-12 Raiders of the Twilight Marsh (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
by Thomas P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2018 15:50:11

As a group I found these adventures to be a fun way to introduce players to the city of Port Nyanzaru. Warning, Spoliers ahead! I've run this adventure three times now and still enjoy it each time. The structure of introducing the faction agents one at a time with thematic missions made for a great overall experence. Each of the faction contacts had interesting details to help them stand out. Of the bunch, I've had the most fun with mission 2, Grand Prize of the Oracle. While the logistics of the race felt a little confusing the first time, players had fun coming up with insults and other ways to mess with the opposing team. It felt a little odd that it only mattered which individual finished the race first. Once one racer gets ahead the rest of the race doesn't really matter. It may have been better to require the team to place ahead on average instead. The cage match is always exciting! However, it seems all too easy to forget about the plants. I think including an indication on the map of the presence of the vines would help remind DMs of their existance. I think the weakest mission was number 4, When Death Calls. Whlie the first half of investigating and exploring was a good opporunity to rp, and the ambush at the huts felt exciting, exploring the "dungeon" was very disapointing. I wish there had been a real "puzzle" instead of just an intelligence roll. While I loved the concept of the final fight, in pratice, a "boss" with 10 AC and 9 HP doesn't last very long, making the second fight end up being just too similar to the first. I would reccomend changing the encounter adjustment tables in a few ways. For the first encounter, Very strong party, replace one zombie with a Ghoul. For the second encounter, Strong party, add a skeleton near Viplo's Alter. Very Strong Party, have Viplo use the Evil Mage statistics from the first adventure. Over all these adventures were a very fun experience and are a great way to help new players get to level 2.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
by James B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2018 15:10:15

This was a super fun adventure. It is really unique in that is near impossible to have the players actually 100% win. The players have to actually choose what they value and what they're willing to sacrifice. I think some very clever players might get away with more, but if the party isn't smart about what they're doing, the consequences are real.

It was also unique in that it really gave the players several ways forward. A lot of modules are very linear in that the player is told to go from a to b to c to d etc., but this adventure gives them options. Ultimately it of course leads to the same result, but it's the journey that counts!

The end reward is also very nice, as it is a one of a kind item. You'll probably have several players fighting over it...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

DDEX2-10 Cloaks and Shadows (5e)
by James B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2018 15:04:19

This is by far my favorite adventure to date. This was so well written and so much fun to do. A murder mystery set in the city? Um...yes! Dodging patrols while trying to solve the mystery of you being framed!? YES!

Every player I have ever run through this adventure has agreed that it is the best one they've ever been in. It's exciting, rewarding, spooky, and full of moral dilemma! I would warn that this does take quite a long time to run if you do it properly. You can rush the players and give them hints and whatnot, but it is by far best if you give yourself 5-6 hours for this adventure and really let the players figure it out. I am really hoping that with the new organized play in season 8, these types of adventures will become the norm. It is always nice to have a dungeon delve, but a city crawl muder myster was such a fresh and unique adventure...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-10 Cloaks and Shadows (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

DDEX03-13 Writhing in the Dark (5e)
by James B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2018 14:58:31

I really loved this adventure. I thought it was very unique compared to some of the other adventures since you get to be employed by a mind flayer, hunt a rogue thought, and encounter some gith!

The reward for this adventure is ridiculously OP, but it still must be earned. The combat is no joke...but the puzzle was really fun. I loved watching people try the memory game and getting zapped! The players seemed to really enjoy it as well. The boss did seem a bit lame in that he wasn't really involved in any way with the players. It would have been better if the rogue thought was tormenting the players as they progressed through the story.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX03-13 Writhing in the Dark (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

DDEX2-12 Dark Rites at Fort Dalton (5e)
by James B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2018 14:55:01

I really wanted to like this adventure...but I just couldn't bring myself to. The reward is great...but the adventure itself is quite lacking. It is supposed to be written in a manner that allows the party to go any way they want, but unless you have an extremely thorough reading of the module and are extremely creative, your players will end up confused as to why things are happening. Exploring the fort was also pretty boring and humdrum...there wasn't anything interesting or standout about each of the locations except "oh here is some random loot you found..."

I could see how someone could make this work, but in comparison to many of the CCC or other season adventures, this one does not stand out.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-12 Dark Rites at Fort Dalton (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

DDEX3-01 Harried in Hillsfar (5e)
by James B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2018 14:51:19

I thought these adventures were really fun and silly, though I must say that they do lack real length and substance.

The basic idea is that a madman tells you to go to five different places, and obviously curious, you check it out. The five places seem almost unrelated and pass by much too quickly. These should absolutely be classified as half hour adventures, and not hour long adventures. I would say that of all the seasons intro adventures I've done, this one was the best for a quick intro to D&D (due to the simplicity and expedience of the adventures) but probably the worst for experienced players.

That being said, they were whimsical and quite fun. I think a clever DM can increase their length and make them a lot more fun.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-01 Harried in Hillsfar (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
by FJ A. I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2018 14:12:50

All 5 1-hour adventures were well balanced with combat and role playing. Some were tougher than others for the combat. Most of them took longer than an hour. All give the feeling that the players are in a jungle setting. The death curse didn't come into play as my players did not drop to 0 hps (close in part 5). I highly recommend!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
by Cameron H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2018 08:59:16

The array of faction leaders are pretty memorable and used numerous times during the DDAL07 modules, so newcomers start to recognize names and and personalities, which is nice; the introduction to the dinosaur racing was great, though quick on its heels a few weeks later is "A Day at the Races," so it gave both some familiarity to how the events worked and a bit of repetitiveness (though the races do have very different sets of rules). Overall, it's a great primer to get people into the setting of Chult and Port Nyanzaru. I'm sure I'll be running them again!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

DDAL07-10 Fire, Ash, and Ruin (5e)
by Christopher P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2018 22:01:47

The central premise of this module is to spend an entire adventure weakening a single creature that the party was probably easily capable of defeating in the first place. As originally written, most of the other combat encounters were more suitable for a mid or high Tier 2 party, and required significant upscaling to provide a challenge. The new version looks to be a significant improvement for many of the subencounters, but I don't think it goes far enough. Fortunately, it is easy enough to upscale - simply add more demons, and possibly replace the final encounter with one of the demon lords (suitably reflavored).

The module does a good job supporting the exploration and social pillars. There's a pretty cool dungeon to explore, and plenty of opportunities for roleplay.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-10 Fire, Ash, and Ruin (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

DDAL05 Storm King's Thunder [BUNDLE]
by Jason R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2018 03:33:47

HAPPY FRIDAY ADVENTURERS!!! The opportunity to pick up so many DDAL05 mods in one foul swoop is amazing in my opinion. Storm King Thunder has been so widely enjoyed by those i run for. The mini adventures at hand invite anyone starting out at lvl 1 a great time! Excellent into to AL. Having the complete assortment has allowd me to step in with so many game varieries in situations where there is a lack of a DM. Being able to select from a variety makes it so I have a greater enjoyment and can experience new adventures without feeling like it's a chore while running the sam mod repeatedly. From someone wanting to dive in with options to those with seasoned DM ambitions wanting to round out a collection that have hit the scene aftwr season 5. An excellent buy!! HAVE ALL THE FUN DM's!!!! ALL THE ADVENTURE!!!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05 Storm King's Thunder [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
by Jason R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2018 04:31:14

HOWDY ADVENTURERS!!! Treasure of the Broken Hoard was an excellent addition to my mod library! Particularly the mission with the Hill Giant! My daugter delighted in the story rewards! Such an excellent twist that shows the versatility of the Sword Coast story telling. Another selection of 1 hour mods that with fun RP can turn long. It took two play sessions to get through all 5 missions. I'd suggest a group of new characters however. It's not a challenge to scale encounters, but we found that they were either too easy or offered a little drag with a party of lvls 2-4. A lvl 1-2 group will find it more seemless with better flow! Introduce your T-1s to the ddal05! ALL THE ADVENTURE!!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

DDAL05-03 Uninvited Guests (5e)
by Jason R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2018 04:22:23

HELLO ADVENTURERS!! Had the pleasure of stepping up to run Uninvited guests today! It was a very fun mod. Both for player and DM. The poor town of Parnast takes such punishment! An RP focussed group can have a great time. From the interaction before the feast, to encounters in the forest. Decisions of the party have occasionally dire consequences. I really enjoyed being the various characters as the story unfolded! Combats were challenging and offered aspects of surpirse while not being overwhelming for parties. In my group there was seasoned AL participants and some first timers. The balance of the various aspects of the mod was very well put together. An excellent t1 selection. I RECOMMEND!! Hsing sends his regards!!! ALL THE ADVENTURE!!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-03 Uninvited Guests (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 4684 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG