SkeletonKey Games
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
SkeletonKey Games Powered by DriveThruRPG



Home » Wizards of the Coast » Reviews
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
by Jordan C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2018 01:53:54

This is thus far my favorite module as a player and was the first module I ran as a DM. It offers a massive amount of flexibilty, for both RP and combat. It can be a bit daunting at first, but my players seemed to enjoy the bits of flair I added. While perfectly possible to run with a group of strangers, I can tell it would really shine if the DM is well versed in their PC's backstories. Heavily recommended whether as a quick session for beginners (though I would advise adjusting some of the combat) or as a longer session to really delve into the back stories of your table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

DDAL07-10 Fire, Ash, and Ruin (5e)
by neuzil l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2018 01:29:25

Ok module but was not as fun as my group like more roleplayer than dungeon crawl.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-10 Fire, Ash, and Ruin (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

DDAL07-09 Unusual Opposition (5e)
by neuzil l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2018 01:25:55

Challenging for the player, enjoyable for all. Would recommend.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-09 Unusual Opposition (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
by neuzil l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2018 01:23:25

Organization of the module not as good as others. Also took more than 2 hours of play as others had said. Would recommend fleshing it out to 4 hours or streamlining to better ensure 2 hours of play.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
by neuzil l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2018 01:21:20

Love the storyline. Players however were underwelmed with the magic item given out. Even so, I would recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
by neuzil l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2018 01:19:07

Great into to the series. Players liked it. I would recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
by Nick H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2018 01:09:46

Over all, this adventure was okay. I felt a disconnect between the events of part 2 of the trilogy and this one. I understand that the same players might not play both, but there wasn't any way to connect them if they had. Some guidance would have been nice. And again, took longer than 2 hours to run. And it puts players under the Death Curse despite taking place after the Soulmonger has been deastroyed. Why?



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
by Nick H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2018 01:02:35

I feel like this is the best of the trilogy. I like that part 2 has options, so you can run the same adventure differently each time.

One complaint, one that others have noted, is that it takes longer than 2 hours to run.

Also, the adventure (and the other parts of the trilogy) takes place after the Soulmonger has been destroyed, but it still puts adventurers under the Death Curse, according to the Death Curse Primer. That just doesn't make any sense.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

DDEX3-10 Quelling the Horde (5e)
by Richard P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2018 21:07:37

An excellent dungeon crawl. Very challenging, especially for level 1 and 2 characters. Even scaled-down, it's a lot of encounters for those characters.

The mystery that opens it up can be a bit tricky to unwind, but most of the stops have clear clues to spur you towards the plot. It can bog the game down if there are completionists in the party, though. The first fight and its revelations are very interesting, so there is some payoff to the investigation.

Probably the biggest problem with this module is that the most interesting part of the story is all behind the scenes, and the players don't really get to understand the interesting backstory of their antagonist and what motivates the goblin forces. More explicit hints as to what's going on than vague descriptions of a horned goblin and other goblins pounding spikes into their heads to look like him would really help the adventurers get interested in their foe.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-10 Quelling the Horde (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
by Richard P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2018 21:01:02

A simple and straightforward mission, but still has some meaningful decision points that alter the adventure. The twist is a lot of fun for players to feel better about their decisions, too. Strongly recommended for a first mission for Adventurer's League.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
by Richard C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2018 19:40:31

This is not a two-hour adventure particularly if there are characters that belong to one of the factions that add extra encounters.

The time line is strange here because there is a piece of the soulmonger in this adventure, but it takes place during the death curse.

The final encounter can be very challenging particularly if Ullal uses the staff. One Wall of Thorns down the hallway will really set things up.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
by Rick S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2018 19:19:56

Really fun adventure that introduces the factions. I really liked how its able to introduce all the different types of monsters that are avaliable, with the grung being a favorite of my players. The treacherous plant life was also cool. The vines in the arena actually stole the final blow from my party's victory.

The adventures were all simple, and even though 100% of my party was new to D&D, and I was new to DMing, we got through each module in roughly the time alloted. Everyone said they had fun, and I never had any issues knowing what was happening.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
by Richard C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2018 18:59:42

This adventure is the best of the tier 1 trilogy. It definitely requires a good amount of prep work to keep all of the moving parts straight.

The puzzle was fun, but make sure that you keep the encounter moving. The waves of zombies can wear down smaller or lower level groups if the group concentrates on them rather than the puzzle.

The last fight was challenging and can be deadly depending on the makeup of the group. I didn’t have Wadumu turn on the party since there was no way that I could have him turn into a bad guy.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
by Richard C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2018 18:43:02

I liked that this was a good way to get the players introduced into Port Nyanzaru/Chult. The dinosaur race was a lot of fun and the race was more detailed and involved over the DDAL07-01 race. I liked that the race has various options for completing the various stages.

A quick note on the betting before the race, the odds listed have been reversed, so that what would be listed as bet 1, receive 7 is listed as 1:7 instead of 7:1.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
by Jason J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2018 01:21:40

This was a fun little module. It was hard figuring out a good was to bring in the ghost as they never found anything that would have made her angry while simultaneously finding everything that they needed to solve the quest, but the story itself was intriguing.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 5006 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG